Recipients of Alumni Awards

Outstanding Service

Presented to an individual who has provided exemplary service to Franklin Pierce. The nominee will have demonstrated strong characteristics of leadership, commitment, and influence on programs and/or activities at the University. Recipients may be selected from past or present members of the faculty, staff, alumni, or friends of the University.

 Year Name Year Name Year Name
2018 Doug Carty ’06

Russell Lineville DPT’14

Owen Houghton P’89
2007 David Brandes  1996  Martha Scott
2016 Bob St. Jean 2006  Lucy Shonk 1994  Donald Schriefer
2015 Rosemary Nichols 2005 Robert Lawson 1993 Edward McDonnell
2014 Patricia Kirsh '70 2004 Stella van Renesse-Walling 1992 Francis Moriarty
2013 Kenneth M. Ervin '96, '03 2003 Normand A.  Dion
Joan R. Dion
1991 Dorothy Peterson
2012 Cindy Arman 2002 Bruce Kirsh '71 1990 Frederic Robbins ~ Posthumously

Robert Alvin

Apollon Valakis
2011 Andrea Brode '91, '99 2001 Thomas Desrosiers 1989 Emily Flint
2010 Jean St. Pierre 2000 Janice Murphy 1988 Howard Sargent
2009 James Maybury 1997 Marion Austin 1987  Wheeler Merriam

Clifford Coles

Blanche St. Peter
2008 Robert Condon        

Power of the Raven Award

Presented to an alumnus who has used their degree from Franklin Pierce University in their career after graduating. The Power of the Raven Award was started in 2012. This new award represents and honors alumni contributions to their field. The award is given to those celebrating their Reunion Year at Alumni Reunion Weekend.

 Year Name
2016 Mark Goodwin '71
2015 Kyle Provost '05
2014 Jennifer Scott Forry ‘04
2013 Scott Babitts '73
2013 Brian P. Nichols '09

 Alumni Participation Award

Presented to an alumnus whose participation in alumni activities is worthy of recognition. The recipient will have demonstrated characteristics of leadership, creativity and commitment that have had a positive effect on the advancement of alumni relations at the University.

 Year Name Year Name Year Name
2016 John Borino 2006 Kurt Muhlfelder '82 1996 Carmine Giangreco '66
2015 Ray Schank '69 2005 Gregory Doody '92 1994 Donald Schriefer
2014 Kimberly Cook Neher ‘89 2005 Wendy Slate Berman '95 1993 David Wilson '77
2013 Arthur W. Fink '72 2005 Stephen Robbins '80 1992 Richard Rettig '71
2013 Marcy Fink '73 2004 Sharon Stein '71 1990 Lloyd Astmann '69
2012 Rick Falconi '69 2004 Matthew Reiss '82 1989 Carleen Farrell '71
2011 Nicole A. Torday '98
Alumni Volunteer of the Year Award
2003 Stephen Robbins '80 1988 Brant Elkind '71
2010 Melissa Conway '98 2002 John Eason '67 1987 John Burke '66
2009 Henry Ellis '69 2001 Matthew Palladino '86 1987 Saul Ostroff '69
2008 Libby Richardson '98 2000 Steven Scott '79    
2007 Therese Ledwith Fay '82 1997 John Cronin, III '73    

 Leader of Conscience

Consistent with the goals of the Franklin Pierce University Statement of Institutional Vision, the Alumni Leader of Conscience Award is given to the alumnus who demonstrates high levels of intellect and character. This individual is balanced in weighing options; decisive in pursuing a chosen course; open to new ideas; seeking always to improve upon the current condition; careful in the judgment of others; gentle in the care of the souls of those they influence; and inspirational and nurturing of similar qualities in others.  

 Year Name Year Name
2016 Henry Ellis '69 2008 Temple Grandin '70
2015 John Plonski '69 2007 Robert Patterson '69
2014 Kerry Stein '90 2006 Carleen Farrell '71
2013 Paul M. Goyette '94 2005 Stephen Robbins '80
2012 John Washington '83 2004 Helen Astmann '69
2011 Derek Scalia '05 2004 Lloyd Astmann '69
2010 Andrew M. Cohen '73 2003 Eugene Schiavone '69
2009 L. James Santerre '66    

Frank S. DiPietro Award

Created at the start of Franklin Pierce University’s 50th Anniversary in 2012, The Frank S. DiPietro Award was designed to honor an alum entrepreneur who believes in the power of giving back, not only to his/her community, but to his/her alma mater as well. In the spirit of its namesake and founding President of Franklin Pierce, Frank S. DiPietro, this award focuses on alumni who share Frank’s entrepreneurial spirit and the consistent contribution to one’s community.

 Year Name
2018 Al Marulli ’69
Dave T. Wilson ’77
2016 David Shooster '69
2015 Lloyd Astmann '69
2013 Charlene Hulten '69
2012 John Burke '66

Service to Alumni Award

[No longer making awards in this category.] Presented to an individual who has provided exemplary service to Franklin Pierce alumni. This individual has demonstrated strong characteristics of leadership, commitment, and influence on programs and/or activities that have enhanced the Alumni Association.

 Year Name
2009 Dr. George J. Hagerty
1994 Walter Peterson
1991 Clarisse A. Wallace

Alumni Appreciation Award

[No longer making awards in this category.] The award was presented in 1996 to the founders of the Alumni Association.

Robert S. Bein '68
Loel L. Green '66
Virginia Tiani Kilduff '69
Saul M. Ostroff '69
Raymond G. Schank '69
Mary Jane Sheldon-Mckenzie '69
Stephen M. Weiner '69