The Fitzwater Center Honors

The Fitzwater Center Honors

The Fitzwater Center is an arena that recognizes excellence—spanning from high school students to established professionals. The Center grants annual scholarships to students who have expressed an interest in media or politics, throughout their high school career. In addition, an annual honors ceremony awards medallions for Leadership in Public Communication.

This year's ceremony will be held on Friday, April 27th, 2018 in Spagnuolo Hall at the Rindge Campus.

The Medallion Lecture 
Civil Discourse in an Uncivil Age:

The Quest for a Post-Partisan Citizenship
3:30 - 4:30 p.m., Spagnuolo Hall
with Alexander Heffner, PBS Host, "The Open Mind"

The Honors Ceremony
6:00 - 7:00 p.m., Spagnuolo Hall
with Alexander Heffner

Previous Recipients of the Fitzwater Medallion for Leadership in Public Communication

Diane Rehm - 2017

Diane Rehm is an award-winning former American Public Radio talk show host and bestselling author. A native Washingtonian, Rehm hosted The Diane Rehm Show on WAMU and NPR for nearly 40 years, which grew from a local program to one with international reach and a weekly on-air audience of more than 2.8 million. She now carries on in podcast form, reporting on issues that matter most to her: what’s going on in Washington, ideas that inform, and the latest on living well as we live longer.

2017 recipient

Joseph Sciacca - 2016

Editor-in-Chief, Boston Herald

2016 Recipient

Juan Williams - 2014

Journalist & Political Analyst, Fox News

2014 Recipient

Tom Rosenstiel - 2012

Director and Founder, Project for Excellence in Journalism
PEW Research Centers

2012 recipient

Jeff Bartlett - 2011

President and General Manager, WMUR

2011 recipient

Candy Crowley - 2010

Senior Political Correspondent, CNN

2010 recipient

Luke Russert
News Correspondent-at-Large, NBC

Dana Perino
Press Secretary to the President, The White House

Steve Scully
Political Editor, C-SPAN
President, White House Correspondents Association

Kenneth Walsh
Senior White House Correspondent, U.S. News & World Report

The Honorable Chuck Hagel
U.S. Senator for Nebraska

Victoria Clarke
Assistant Secretary of Defense for Public Affairs, U.S. Department of Defense

Center Programs

The Marlin Fitzwater Center for Communication offers numerous programs that reach out to constituencies on campus, within the region and beyond to the national arena.

Pierce Media GroupThe Pierce Media Group consists of the Pierce Arrow Newspaper, FP-TV, and the Pierce radio station. This organization is operated completely by students like you that have an interest in mass communications and media.
Department of Communication

In addition, the Department of Communication is housed within the Marlin Fitzwater Center for Communication and offers degrees in Communication with concentrations in Journalism and Media Production as well as Media Studies, Sports Media, and Social Media and Emergent Technologies.

About Marlin Fitzwater

Learn more about the Center’s namesake, Marlin Fitzwater, who served as press secretary to presidents Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush.